iPad: It’s Been One Week…

Posted: April 11, 2010 in Apple, first impressions, iPad, iPhone, iPhone 3GS, Macbook Air, PCTablet, Tablet
Tags: ,

…after exactly one week spent with the iPad, I can honestly say for certain it’s made a successful and appreciated transition into my life. For what it’s worth, this blog post is the first time I’ve touched my Macbook since the iPad arrived. There was one time when I instinctively went for the Macbook to check something online, but it dawned on me it would be much faster to do it on the iPad. Since that moment, I haven’t really looked back.

The iPad has just integrated right into regular use almost seamlessly, but on top of that is getting much more additional use than I did out of either my netbook or laptop. I keep it close while watching TV to check scores and actors’ details, and also nearby my desktop when I’m gaming to check news or watch live TV. I’ve used it on the treadmill, and been able to watch video, listen to music, and even surf and shop while exercising. I bring it to the bathroom, I read eBooks in bed, game on the couch. I’m constantly checking the App store for new apps, and I’ve found quite a few gems, as well as iTunes for new music and videos.

Pretty much everything I’d imagined it would, the iPad is handling, and with very little effort on my part. This is not a “forced usage” kind of scenario where I’m doing these things just to prove a point. More the opposite, it’s really filling in the blanks where I had no effective equivalent on top of taking care of easy things like checking email regularly. The treadmill is the best example, where I watched an episode of Glee the other day while walking a few miles. Before I knew it 45 minutes had passed as I marveled at how good the video quality (and the show itself) was. I’ve tried other video devices and it’s always been too awkward due to the form factor or too small a screen to enjoy, so I had kind of given up. My only issue was the sound (which tends to get drowned out by the treadmill), so as soon as I stepped off, I was on Amazon searching for a Bluetooth speaker. I found a nice one for $50 (Altec Lansing) which pairs up with both the iPhone 3GS and iPad, so the next time I’m on I’ll have decent room-filling sound as well. I can’t wait for Slingbox to optimize their app so I can watch higher quality live and DVR TV; the current version works but video quality is fairly poor.

Typing on the iPad works amazingly well considering what I was expecting, but of course can still never compare to a physical keyboard. The feel of this one in particular (Macbook Air) just fits for me. That said, I’ve gotten used to typing on the iPad for short posts and emails, which I’ve typically avoided on the iPhone; I tried a typing test site and averaged about 30-40 WPM with no errors, so clearly speed and accuracy are not a big problem using the touchscreen implementation. The auto correction, as mentioned in the previous post, is very accurate and useful. Unfortunately with no tactile feedback it’s just not quite the same experience as keys can give. I don’t consider this an issue since I have other options, but somehow intending the iPad to be their *only* device should think about whether they are satisfied with the tying options.

As far as gaming, I am anticipating really big things based on what’s already been demonstrated with the first releases. We Rule is terribly addictive, and often I’ll just watch the graphics as they are just gorgeous on the larger screen. There’s also something incredibly satisfying about touching the screen to collect cash and harvest your crops, silly and hard to explain. Warpgate HD looks like an incredibly deep space sim with an endless amount of gameplay. RealRacingHD has smoothly rendered racing tracks and great responsiveness to the accelerometer; the use of the screen as both HUD and steering wheel makes for some truly innovative gameplay. Plants vs Zombies is just plain fun and the touch interface and gorgeous graphics are perfect for the iPad. There’s a “God” sim called Godfinger which is quite amusing, and a new MMORPG-lite entitled Pocket Legends which is trying to bring Diablo style online dungeon romps to the mix.

So far I’ve only demoed the iPad to a couple of close friends. Both seemed to love the Photos and Books in particular, so these should be popular among the non-geek crowd. My one friend is now re-thinking upgrading his old Macbook, and instead going with a desktop (iMac perhaps) + iPad combo instead. Of course it really depends on your personality and usage, but I’m thinking that’s a really good way to go. Have a nice large screen with plenty of power to do your more intensive tasks, and then use the iPad for general and on-the-go needs. For more tech savvy users, set the desktop up to for both remote use and as the server to stream content from, and you’ve really got a powerful tool at your fingertips.

Clearly this is not going to be a hit with everyone in the short term. I’ve had a lot of questions from folk who still seemed confused by the entire concept? Is it a laptop replacement? Is it a computer? Is it an eBook reader? A portable gaming machine? The answer is of course it can be all of these things and more, provided one is willing to make a few sacrifices like Flash and USB support. And understand to really take full of advantage of all it has to offer, you’ll need to research the right apps and then try them out to see if they worked well for you.

My advice if you are really in the market for one but are still on the fence: take a trip to the local Best Buy or Apple store and try one out. My local BB had 3 of them for people to play with. You really have to feel the thing in your hands and interact with it to make sure it feels good to you and that you can accomplish your highest priority tasks with it. There are some things (like web and photo browsing) I flat out believe are a better experience here than anything else out there. Something about the immediacy and intimacy of the Touchscreen transcend the general state ofThen there are others (productivity) that appear to need some additional effort to learn. This kind of thing will start to sort itself out over time.

All in all I can see the iPad fitting into all sorts of different lives and lifestyles, from students to gamers to housewives to retired folk. It has the potential to be different things to different people, and because of its particular size/weight/form factor, the potential to go a lot of places that traditional laptops/netooks wouldn’t. So it will be interesting to see if it catches on more mainstream or remains in a niche. I’m guessing it won’t really take off til perhaps Christmas, taking advantage of both the holiday and (hopefully) the introduction of iPhone OS 4.

Leave a Reply

